NEW BHF logo

The JA Northern and Eastern Ontario Business Hall of Fame is our most important fund development opportunity of the year. Established by JA Northern and Eastern Ontario in 2016, the event, celebrates the lifetime accomplishments of Peterborough’s most distinguished business leaders.

Each year, inductees are chosen for their enduring contributions to the economic development and prosperity of Peterborough and the area and often the province and country as well. Inductees are recognized for their outstanding achievement and merit of the highest degree, especially in service to the City of Peterborough’s economy and the business community. As leading examples of achievement in business and in life, these individuals have demonstrated the qualities necessary to ensure the success and competitiveness of the City of Peterborough and Canada in the global marketplace.

Through a public call for nominations, candidates are submitted to Junior Achievement of Northern and Eastern Ontario and then presented to an independent Selection Committee. The Selection Committee is comprised of individuals from the JA Northern and Eastern Ontario Board of Governors, local business leaders, and past laureates.

The 2023 JA Northern and Eastern Ontario Business Hall of Fame will take place on Thursday, May 25, 2023 at The Venue in downtown Peterborough. The 2023 Laureates will be announced in the spring of 2023.

We invite you to honour an individual whom you feel is deserving of recognition as an inductee of the JA Northern and Eastern Ontario Business Hall of Fame.

Nomination Deadline: November 25, 2022, at 3:00 p.m.

  • 2022
  • 2021
  • 2020

Our 2022 inductees are

Eric and Marlaine Bennett
Bennett’s Home Furniture and Mattress
Ken Blow, John and Glenda Lavery
Kadex Aero Supply
Ray Kapoor
Formerly The Black Horse Pub
Mary LaRocque
Marlin Travel
William “Bill” Lockington
LLF Lawyers LLP
Peter McLean
McLean, Simon and Associates Inc.
Peter Norris
Formerly Holiday Ford
David and Kimberly Morello
Morello’s Your Independent Grocer
Vanessa Oake Hogan
Century 21 United Realty
Michael Santos
Mercedes-Benz Peterborough
Ian Scates
Central Smith

Our 2021 inductees are

Swish Maintenance Group of Companies & Yorkshire Valley Farms
Euphoria Wellness Spa
Flying Colours Corp.
Domino’s Pizza
Franz’s Butcher Shop & Catering
MicroAge Peterborough-Whitby

Heritage Recognition Recipients (Posthumous)

Villa Auto Wash

Our 2020 inductees are

Brant Basics
Lucky Strike Bait Works Ltd.
Black Honey Desserts, Coffee and Catering
Glen Isle Farms
The Peterborough Fuel and Transfer Company Limited (Kelly’s Fuel)
Best Western Plus Otonabee Inn
The Ear Company – Peterborough Audiology Inc.

Heritage Recognition Recipients (Posthumous)

Vernon (Herb) Watt Hall

Celebrating the Legacy of the Past Business Hall of Fame Inductees

To learn about the outstanding impact of the past JA-NEO Inductees, please visit our YouTube channel.

As JA-NEO’s largest education fund development event, proceeds help meet the growing demand for financial literacy, work readiness, and entrepreneurship in-person and online programs at no cost to students, teachers, or schools, providing essential support to facilitate the future success of every JA student.